My Profile

Jason Piskopus

Los Angeles, United States of America

About Me

Current city:
Los Angeles
Current country:
United States of America
Country of Citizenship:
United States of America


Hi Everyone,

My name is Jason, and I love teaching English.

I have 20 plus years of experience tutoring English as a second language from those who are just beginning to learn English to those who are advanced.

I have worked at Los Angeles City College as a Supplemental Instructor for college-level ESL courses. I prepared lesson plans for content-specific workshops on grammar, speaking, and writing. I also worked one-on-one with students for help with specific issues. 

Before that, I worked as a freelance tutor for students in primary and secondary schools, as well as university students. I have also tutored students with various learning disabilities. All of this experience has prepared me for virtually any learning or linguistic barriers I may face as a teacher. 

I have also worked with students in philosophy, medical terminology, and literature/literary criticism. 

I look forward to chatting with you about whatever challenges you need me to tackle. 



TESOL Certificate

April 2019

Los Angeles City College

Associate of Journalism -- Transfer

June 2020

Los Angeles City College

Associate of English

June 2018

University of Pittsburgh

Bachelor's of Linguistics

June 2003


Speech Therapy Assistant

University of Pittsburgh Medical Center

July 2001 to October 2005

I worked as an assistant to a speech therapist. We worked with preschool and elementary school students -- typically between the ages of 4 and 9 -- in inner-city schools. 

I personally worked with students struggling with fetal alcohol syndrome, learning disabilities, and developmental disorders. 

S.I. (Supplementary Instruction) Mentor

Los Angeles City College

February 2015 to June 2018

I worked one-on-one and in groups with students in college ESL and English composition. I also designed lesson plans for workshops based on the class's needs. These workshops were specially tailored for the specific course content and changed between semesters and courses.

Nurse -- Various levels

Various hospitals and clinics

November 2005 to February 2015

I spent a number of years working as a nurse in both short-term and long-term care settings. This experience helps me to work with different cultures, peoples, and delicate situations. It also gave me patience that I use with my students, and it taught me to fully appreciate the value of teaching.

Private/Freelance Tutor


August 2003 to Current

I have worked with students from various colleges and universities such as the University of Pittsburgh, Carnegie-Mellon University, the University of California at Los Angeles, and the University of Southern California. I have also worked with primary and secondary school students who were homeschooled or who had disabilities, as well as students from both public and private institutions. My scope of practice includes: grammar, composition, pronunciation, spelling, conversation, and preparing for English placement exams. Although I mainly tutor English, I have worked with students in philosophy, literature and criticism, and medical terminology.


native english speaker a master/bachelor degree in teaching english or applied linguistics/ or related degree in related field none related degrees are accepted tesol certificate microsoft office fast learner video production video editing videography management skills highly experienced writer


english french spanish


No Record Found


No Record Found


No Review